

The South African Medico-Legal Association

BOARD NOTICE 271 OF 2022 GAZETTED BY THE RAF ON 6 MAY 2022

11 May 2022

Good day members

Most members would by now have seen the Board Notice 271 of 2022 gazetted by the RAF on 6 May 2022. I have received the following response from the chairperson of the RAF committee of SAMLA, Attorney Leigh De Souza-Spagnoletti.

They have received a number of queries regarding the gazetted Board notice and while neither SAMLA nor its RAF chair take any responsibility for the efficacy or otherwise of the advice dispensed below, SAMLA's RAF chair states the following:

- The RAF Act 56 of 1996 as amended governs the manner in which RAF claims should be lodged as well as the requirements for lodgement. These legislative provisions remain in effect;
- Claims close to prescription can be lodged by registered post which method of lodgement satisfies the requirements of the Act;
- While there is no precedent therefore it is suggested that imminently prescribing claims, in the event that registered post is not viable and the RAF offices refuse to accept lodgement thereof, be lodged via email to management of the Fund's main branch office in Pretoria and cc'd to the branch which claimant attorneys wish to have administer the claim.

SAMLA is supportive of practical efforts made by the RAF to streamline the claim process and to fast track finalization of claims. While the provision of all evidence suggested in the gazetted notice is often not a possibility, it stands to reason that the more information provided to the organisation, the better placed it is to fast track finalization of the claim.

Your sincerely

Prof Ethelwynn L Stellenberg

National Chairperson

Non-Profit Company. Registration Number: 2005/013822/08 Web: www.medicolegal.org.za | E-mail: info@samla.org.za

Directors: Prof Ethelwynn Stellenberg (National Chairperson); Dr Henry Lerm (National Deputy Chairperson – Legal; Eastern Cape - Branch Chairperson); Dr Sharon Munyaka (National Deputy Chairperson - Health Sciences; Transformation Director); Prof Ramodungoane Tabane (Faculty Principal); Mr Johan Jordaan (National Treasurer); Dr Karen Levin (Communications and Membership Director); Mr JP Venter (Administration Director); Ms Philippa Styles (KZN - Branch Chairperson); Dr Thabiso Rapapali; (Free State – Branch Chairperson); Ms Romany Sutherland (Western Cape - Branch Chairperson); Ms Carina Van de Wall (Gauteng - Branch Chairperson); Dr Hans Enslin (RAF Director); Adv Johanna Barnardt; Ms Desiree David; Ms Barbara Donaldson (Credentialling Director); Mr Rowan Haarhoff (Business Development Director); Ms Grace Hughes; Dr Willem Moore (Ethis and Legal); Dr & Adv Anton Van den Bout; Dr Carlien Van Heerden; Renier Jacobs; Yvonne Raganya