Board of Directors


Judge Neels Claassen National Chairperson, Mediator MiM(UCT)

Judge (Retired) of the High Court of South Africa


Dr Herman Edeling Clinical Negligence Director and Faculty Course Leader; Mediator MiM(UCT)

Neurosurgeon in Medico-Legal Practice


Dr Hennie Pienaar Director: National Treasurer

ā€ˇPrincipal Specialist (Head of Unit) at Department of Surgery, University of Pretoria


Dr Hannetjie Edeling Director: Administration/Communications; Mediator (Conflict Dynamics and MiM(UCT))

Counselling psychologist,workshop facilitator,author and mediator


Adv. Albert Lamey Director

Advocate at Pretoria Society of Advocates


Prof. Hennie Becker National Director: Education

Emeritus Professor Surgery at Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University ( Medunsa campus)


Romany Sutherland Director: Communications; Branch-Chairperson (Western Cape); Mediator MiM(UCT)

Attorney specialising in Clinical Negligence


Dr Henry Lerm Deputy Chairperson Legal; Director and Branch-Chairperson (Eastern Cape); Mediator (MiM)UCT

Doctor in Law and an admitted attorney at Uitenage Justice for Legal Aid SA


Adv. Patrick van den Heever Director; Mediator (Conflict Dynamics)

Member of the Cape Bar Extraordinary Professor of Law (Criminal and Medical Law (University of the Free State)) Accredited Commercial & Civil Mediator


Prof. Charles Lautenbach Director

Orthopaedic Surgeon


Dr Frank Snyckers Director



Dr Hans Enslin Director: RAF Matters

Orthopaedic Surgeon


Dr Rita Kellerman Director

Director at A. M. Kellerman & Associates


Dr Anton van den Bout Director

Orthopaedic and Spinal surgeon and admitted Advocate to the High Court of SA Accredited Mediator in Medical Negligence and Commercial matters


Prof. Gert Saayman Director

Forensic Pathologist; Head of Department of Forensic Medicine, University of Pretoria


Trevor Reynolds Deputy Chairperson Health Sciences

Clinical (neuro)psychologist, forensic expert witness, Aeromedical and Aviation Psychology


Adv. Ian Dutton Director

Advocate of the High Court specialising in Medical Law


Dr Gavin Fredericks Director


Adv Thami Ncongwane Director: Transformation


Adv Lucille Butow-DuToit Director

Director; Faculty Course Convenor; Mediator [SAAM & MiM(UCT)]


Mr Brand Claassen Director and Branch-Chairperson ((Free State)


Adv Natalie Lawrenson Director


Dr Marlene Wasserman Director


Mr Johan Jordaan Director


Ms Elzeth Jacobs Director

Occupational Therapist in Medico-Legal Practice and Mediator

About Us

The SAMLA is an independent, neutral, educational and transparent organisation not for profit, funded by membership contributions, donations and funds generated through seminars.


85 St Patrick Road,
Houghton, Johannesburg